What is CPD?

CPD – or Continuing Professional Development – is the process of tracking and documenting the skills, knowledge and experience that professionals gain, both formally and informally, over the course of their career.

For engineers, architects, quantity surveyors, project managers, scientists and many other professions, CPD is required to achieve and maintain a professional registration with the appropriate council, beyond any initial training such as a degree or diploma in the field.

This professional registration, in turn, is required by law for these types of professionals to be recognised as competent experts in their field. Just as a medical doctor must maintain up-to-date skills and knowledge to continue to practice medicine, so scientists, built environment professionals and project managers must ensure they practice life-long learning for their area of expertise in order to ensure public safety.

Renewal of Professional Registration.

CPD requirements

Most councils in South Africa have a CPD system in place, that are compliant with legislation and linked to renewal of professional registration. Engineers, architects and scientists have the same CPD system and requirements.

Registered professionals must obtain a minimum number of credits or points in three categories to maintain their registration with their council. These categories are:

  1. Developmental Activities, also known as Category 1.
  2. Work Activities, also known as Category 2.
  3. Individual Activities, also known as Category 3.

Engineers, architects­ and scientists must earn a minimum of 25 credits or points over a five-year cycle, and at least 5 credits must be obtained in Category 1.

How to maintain CPD

There are many ways to obtain the CPD credits required in each category, including formal training, workshops and conferences offered by the councils themselves or employers. Sometimes, though, formal learning like this isn’t practical and professionals may need to supplement these activities with less time consuming, more accessible pursuits.

Professional CPD is dedicated to providing articles, journals, technical reports, research papers and other documents that are validated by the appropriate councils in Category 1.

In addition, professionals who use Professional CPD can access accredited and validated learning material from related councils that will earn them credits in Category 3.

The Councils we support

To ensure that the learning material we provide meets the standards of the councils in question, Professional CPD partners with the councils themselves. It supports their systems and the professionals that must remain compliant.


The Engineering Council of South Africa (ECSA)

ECSA’s primary role is the regulation of the engineering profession in terms of the Engineering Profession Act (46/2000).


SACNASP (South African Council for Natural Scientific Professions)

SACNASP is the legislated regulatory body for natural science practitioners in South Africa. The natural sciences encompass a wide range of scientific fields covering all of the basic sciences and many of their applied derivatives. For a complete list of the current fields of practise recognised by SACNASP

Need Help?

Contact me, I will sort out your renewal.

Johan van Schalkwyk



Scroll to Top